Courgette Chips and Mayonnaise

Posted on August 26, 2013

17


courgette chips on thingswemakecourgette chips on thingswemake  courgette chips on thingswemake

I am never sad about a glut of courgettes.

In our climate there are so few things that grow abundantly and even when they do it is only for a few weeks of the year. We eat courgette soup once or twice a week in the Summer and then there are always tarts and chutneys to be made.

This year we are growing a heritage variety called Black Beauty that produces glossy, dark, green fruits and has less spiny stems. Only one of the hybrid plants I grew from seed survived so I bought the other plants from the local nursery. I must stick to my guns next year in my decision to only buy nursery plants. I just don’t have the right environment or patience for the complete process and young plants are so cheap and healthy…and un-pecked by chickens.

Today’s haul became chips, picked, sliced then coated in panko and parmesan by the boy.

courgette chips on thingswemake

While they were baking we made some homemade mayonnaise to dip them in. I am so pleased to have finally found a foolproof recipe that doesn’t split on me, even if it does mean I have to wash the Magimix afterwards. You need the mayonnaise to counteract the courgette chips natural healthiness.

courgette chips on thingswemakecourgette chips on thingswemakecourgette chips on thingswemake

We had these as a side order with turkey and cranberry sandwiches (models own).

Courgette Parmesan Chips

Some courgettes
A beaten egg or two
Flour – seasoned with salt and pepper
Panko crumbs
Parmesan

Slice your courgettes into thinnish chips.
Dip in seasoned flour, then beaten egg, then parmesan mixed with panko (about half and half)
Lay the chips on non-stick foil.
Bake for 7 minutes with the oven on 220c or full wack ‘f’ – whatever that is.
Gently turn the chips over and bake for another 7-8 minutes.
You probably don’t need to turn them over but I can’t help but fiddle.
Take them out of the oven and sprinkle liberally with sea salt and heat hot.

Easy Mayonnaise

I pretty much nicked this from the Hairy Bikers BBC page

In the food processor briefly mix:

2 egg yolks
1 egg
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
1 tablespoon of dijon mustard
2-3 pinches of salt
½ teaspoon of caster sugar

Then gradually, as the motor is running…slowly drizzle in 400ml of vegetable oil
I use sunflower oil, and don’t always use it all up
Watch the miracle of it thickening to a rich and heavy mayo.

Check seasoning

Boom.