See my bagels

Posted on February 2, 2012

35


Although there is generally a lot of baking on Things{we}make I am lucky that it is a joint venture and that Ed understands my need to show you my bagels.

I like that he knows how to make a good-looking filling of pastrami, pea shoots and horseradish.

It is most important that he will fill three bagels: one for him, one for me and one for the camera.

We eat the ‘one for the camera’ too.

He’s also very handy at finding random pieces of old wood to use as backgrounds.

…and he’s amenable to holding a reflector whilst I try to capture an image in the fading winter light.

Even though what he really wants to do is tuck into a fourth bagel stuffed with peanut butter, banana and honey washed down with a mug of hot tea.

But most of all he is good at eating all the things{I}bake.

Thanks m’honey x

__________________________________________________________________________

These bagels were made as part of the Fresh From The Oven Challenge for January 2012.

This month heralds a new era for the group in that the challenges are now out in the open rather than on a private blog and we don’t have to wait until the end of the month to reveal our wares.

This recipe is hosted on the Purely Food blog and you have until 28th of the month to GO MAKE BAGELS then post your results. I prefer this approach as we can all share our results as we bake them, plus it should encourage more people to wade in and have a go.

The only changes I made to the original recipe were:

  • I added 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tablespoon of bicarb of soda to the poaching water
  • I baked half of them on baking parchment sprinkled with polenta, which worked a treat
  • I let them prove longer in their shaped state as this helps fill out the shape
  • Made the holes 3 times bigger than they should be as they close up…lots

I have made bagels before and posted them here and once you have got your head around the fact that there is just one extra step of boiling them for 2 minutes before baking they are quite simple, and more importantly most delicious.

If you feel like joining our monthly adventures with bread, head over to Purely Food and get baking.