Sweet Coconut Milk Risotto

Posted on October 20, 2011

9


The days are getting shorter and the nights are getting colder. It makes me want to hibernate.

Failing that I want to light the fire, curl up under a blanket and eat something like this.

This is the creamiest of puddings. It’s made with coconut milk, nothing desiccated in here, that would jar with the texture.

It’s only me that likes milky puddings in this house, so I shall be eating the lions share of this. I’m not complaining, I love this soft, coconut scented dessert: real comfort food.

Coconut Milk Risotto
If were you I would use my updated recipe on this post instead: coconut rice pudding two-ways!
 
900ml milk
100ml cream (or just use 1l of full cream milk)
50g caster sugar (I use vanilla sugar)
a pinch of salt
120g arborio rice
20g butter
240g canned coconut milk

In one saucepan gently warm the milk, cream, sugar and salt.

In a second large non stick pan melt the butter, add the rice and sauté for a minute or two.

Then, as if you are making a normal savoury risotto gradually ladle the milk mixture onto the rice whilst stirring with a wooden spoon. The rice won’t soak up the milk quickly like stock, but just ladle it in and allow it to gently simmer and thicken.

Stir regularly until the rice is very soft and looks like a runny rice pudding. It will take nearly half an hour, but you can stir it idly and stare out of the window at all the autumn leaves that need raking.

Lastly, add the coconut milk and continue to gently cook it for another 5 minutes.

Pour the pudding into a bowl and allow to cool. It thickens a lot as it cools and is at it’s best at around room temperature.

Serve with whatever seasonal fruit you have to hand, or if you are me, sneak a spoonful whenever you are passing the kitchen.

Pomegranates are so vibrant. Great for a photo, but I prefer this creamy rice pudding just as it is.

This is my version of an original recipe by Aran at Cannelle et Vanille.