Kiflice

Posted on November 28, 2010

23


The best way to introduce this post is to let the host of the November Fresh From The Oven Challenge tell you herself:

Hi! I’m Maja (pronounced Maya) alias mamajac from Cooks and Bakes, I live in Belgrade, Serbia. I joined FFTO a year ago, and now I’m proud to host the November challenge. I decided to challenge you to prepare and try one of our family recipes, for super soft mini cheese rolls. Cheese rolls we use to call kiflice are very popular savory little treats here in Serbia. They are usually served as a starter at family meetings, or as a finger food at parties and they are standard offer at city bakeries. Almost each family has it’s variation of the recipe, and I’d like to share mine with you.

I was looking forward to making these. A bite size bready snack, stuffed with cheese can only be a good thing.



This was the first time I had used my new Kenwood Chef in anger. It is supposed to be for my birthday but once it arrived it seemed a shame not to use it.

It coped admirably with this soft dough and made the whole process very easy.

They might seem fiddly to make, but it’s one of those things that once you get into the rhythm, it’s quite simple and enjoyable. I got better as I went along so bun number 40 looked much better than bun 1.

There is a teaspoonful of feta, softened with egg white, in each one. I supplemented it with a little cheddar, but I still ran out of filling, so the last 4 were jam filled, which went down well with the boy.

If you fancy trying this one out take a trip over to Maja’s blog for more ‘how to’ pictures. There is also a printable version here.

Again this group has inspired me to make something new. These are really delicious warm, Fresh From The Oven.