Chicken Balls

Posted on May 14, 2010

17


We had meatballs for tea.

Not ordinary meatballs, but child friendly crispy roast chicken ones.

This is the meat I picked off last nights leftover roast chicken. Doesn’t seem like much does it? But it’s about to make 27 tasty things.

I threw it into the Food Processor and George pressed the button to smoosh it up.

He likes that bit.

Then, bonus, in the freezer I had stashed some spare breadcrumbs and minced fried onion leftover from some previous culinary experiment.

So in went a couple of tablespoons of each of those.

Then we added an egg.

Here’s George ‘egg modelling’.

We bought these on the way back from school from a lady down the road who has put a sign outside her house offering ‘Free Range Eggs For Sale’.

Aren’t they pretty?

Once George pressed the button a few more times it looked like this:

Well the truth is it looked a bit drier than this so we added a 2nd egg until it looked nice and mouldable. This is the point that you should put the mix in the fridge to firm up for an hour or more. I didn’t, hence mine ended up not-so-spherical.

We added some salt, pepper and chicken seasoning too. Then I rolled them up into balls.

By this time George had got bored and wandered off.

I rolled it in some of my ready seasoned flour. How organised is that?

You could fry them at this stage but I decided to TAKE IT TO THE MAX.

Well, take-it-to-the-Panko to be more accurate.

I dipped them into beaten egg then in lovely crunchy panko bread crumbs.

Here they are frying in some hot Trex. Oil would do, but I do like a bit of Trex.

We had them with pasta n sauce for tea.

Good times.

Printable recipe